There are things that I absolutely LOVE to do. It’s no secret that I love running. If you know me, you’re probably sick of hearing about races here and there, or hilly training runs. I love to talk about it because it is one of my passions. I also love to craft, take pictures and write. Everyone has hobbies, and these are mine.

Being a full time wife and mommy, I don’t have a lot of time to do these things. I don’t get an hour for lunch each day or 15 minute breaks to catch my breath. My day is scheduled by feedings, bath and play time from sun up to sun down. It’s such a blessing, but there are times when I just need to do something for me. Cue my amazing family.

I have been blessed with two incredible parents. They have set the bar high when it comes to parenthood. If I can be half of what they are to me to my kids, then I’ll be doing pretty well. They love my me and my siblings unconditionally, and now they love their grand babies the same way.

So, if you read my entry entitled “Some Days,” you know what this whole parenthood thing is like. Many of you guys have kids yourself and know how it is first hand. Well, Friday, I was on the way to having a day where most things were going wrong. I called my Mom and she said to come on up to the house. She would watch the kids while I went on a run. I immediately jumped at the chance to go. I hurriedly dressed the kids, threw the first running outfit I could grab in my bag and headed up to my parents house. When I opened the door, there they were- my awesome parents. Mom made us lunch and held the baby while I ate. Then my Dad offered to hang out with the kids while we went on a run/walk together. Both kids. Now, my Dad hasn’t always been the type to hang out with the littles, mainly the tiny baby squishes. That is totally okay, not everyone is a fan of the baby stage. (Let’s be honest, it’s a rough stage.) He has totally been incredible with Daisy. When we had our Snowpocalypse (*eyeroll*) a few weeks ago, he actually asked to hold her. He talked to her and she just stared at him with her big love filled eyes. Talk about a heart warming moment. If Hallmark had been there, we would be rich! Anyways, back to the story, Papa snuggled Daisy up, let Gabey turn on his favorite show and sent us on our way.

image2.JPG
Holding hands with Papa

My mom and I had a lovely walk. She can really book it people! I had so much fun just talking and being silly with my mama. In a lot of ways, I am just like her. We have the same sense of humor, the ability to look sad when we’re not constantly smiling and the same super quiet whisper-like voice. The older I get, the more I am becoming just like her…and I love that. She has become one of my very best friends and the person I call when I have news. Whether I’m super excited about a deal on clothes or fuming from an encounter with someone who rubbed my the wrong way, she’s the first person I want to talk to. She always gives me a listening ear and knows just what to say in response. Now that I think about it, my mom is also becoming a lot like her mom too, which I think is pretty spectacular. After our walk was over, we came home to find Daisy knocked out on her papa and Gabey sitting in the chair beside him. It was awesome. I felt totally refreshed and ready to love on my two gorgeous children.

image1
Staring at her Nana

I realize that not every new mom has access to family, and I also realize that not every family is like mine. Oh, how I wish they were. I pray for military wives and single parents, who live away from family and have to raise their kids alone. If you are one of these parents, reach out to a bestie. They are the family we choose after all. And if you are blessed enough to live near family or friends please take them up on their offers for help. On the same note, don’t be afraid to ask for help. Whether you need a minute to take the shower you haven’t had in three days, or to go out and do something for you for a bit- there is nothing wrong with letting someone else in on your parenting world. I am a firm believer that these times make you a better parent. I believe that my parents remember that. Thank you Mom and Dad, for everything.

